Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta FUNAAB

Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta FUNAAB

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta FUNAAB is one of the higher institutions of learning owned and run by the Federal government of Nigeria.

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, or FUNAAB, was established on 1 January 1988 by the Federal Government when four universities of technology, earlier merged in 1984, were demerged. This led to the creation of the first two universities of agriculture in Abeokuta and Makurdi.

The institution is one of three agricultural universities in Nigeria, with the others located in Makurdi (Benue State) and Umudike (Abia State). The university began with a small campus at Isale-Igbein, in the heart of Abeokuta, Ogun State’s capital. It moved to its permanent site on a 10,000-hectare campus close to the Ogun-Oshun River Basin Development Authority on the Abeokuta-Ibadan road in the city’s northeastern end, 15 kilometers from Abeokuta City Centre, in December 1997.

Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta FUNAAB

NameFederal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta FUNAAB.
MottoKnowledge For Development
TypePublic research university
Established1 January 1988
Vice-ChancellorProfessor Felix Salako
Academic staff529
Administrative staff1,447

FUNAAB Past and Present Chancellors

Since inception, FUNAAB has had four Chancellors:

  • Alhaji Kabir Umar, the Emir of Katagum in Bauchi State, appointed in 1989,
  • Oba Adeyinka Oyekan, the Oba of Lagos (now late). He served from 2001 to 2003,
  • Obi (Prof.) Joseph Chike Edozien, the Asagba of Asaba in Delta State, a renowned and retired Professor of Medicine of the University of Ibadan is the immediate past Chancellor.
  • The current Chancellor is Edidem Ekpo Okon Abasi-Otu (V), the Obong of Calabar, Natural Ruter, and the Grand Patriarch of the Efik-Ebutytu Kingdom, Rex Maximum Calabarees and the defender of the Christian Faith.[5]

FUNAAB Past and Present Vice-chancellors

  1. The foundation Vice-Chancellor was Professor Nurudeen Olorunimbe Adedipe, who served for two terms of four years each: From 8 January 1988 to 31 December 1991 and  From 1 January 1992 to 31 December 1995.
  2. The second Vice-Chancellor was Professor Julius Amioba Okojie, who acted from 1 January 1996 till 2 September 1996, when he became a substantive Vice-Chancellor and served for one term of five-year which ended on 31 August 2001.
  3. The third Vice-Chancellor was Professor Israel Folorunso Adu, who served from 1 September 2001 to 31 August 2006.
  4. Professor Ishola Adamson acted as an acting Vice-Chancellor from 1 September 2006 till 24 May 2007
  5. The fourth Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun was appointed from 24 May 2007 till 23 May 2012.
  6. Professor Olusola Bamidele Oyewole was appointed the fifth substantive Vice-Chancellor at the 70th Statutory Meeting of the university’s Governing Council on Friday, 20 April 2012. He assumed office from 24 May 2012 till 24 May 2017.
  7. Professor Ololade Ade Enikuomehin was recommended and appointed as the Acting Vice-Chancellor by the Senate of the university at its special meeting on 24 May 2017 and served in that capacity till 31 October 2017.
  8. The sixth substantive Vice-Chancellor and current South Western Nigeria Coordinator (2016–2017), African Cassava Agronomy Initiative (ACAI), Professor Felix Kolawole Salako took over the baton of leadership on 1 November 2017 till date.


FUNAAB Past and Present Deputy Vice-chancellors

  • Professor G. M. Babatunde: 1 September 1994
  • Professor Julius Okojie: 1 October 1994 to 31 December 1995
  • Professor I. F. Adu: December 2000 (2 terms)
  • Professor T.O. Tayo: 7 December 2000 to 6 December 2004 (2 terms)
  • Professor A.R.T. Solarin: 7 December 2004 to 6 December 2006.
  • Professor I.C. Eromosele, DVC (Academic): 14 September 2007 to 17 September 2009.
  • Professor O.J. Ariyo, DVC (Development): 14 September 2007 to 17 September 2009.
  • Professor C.F.I Onwuka, DVC (Academic): 18 September 2009 to 17 September 2011.
  • Professor S.T.O Lagoke, DVC (Development): 18 September 2009 to 17 September 2011.
  • Professor T.A. Arowolo, DVC (Academic): 18 September 2011 to December 2013.
  • Professor F. K. Salako, DVC (Development): 18 September 2011 to 6 January 2016 (2 terms).
  • Professor M. A. Waheed, DVC (Academic): 1 January 2014 to 6 January 2016.
  • Professor (Mrs.) C.O. Eromosele, DVC (Academic): 7 January 2016 till 7 January 2018
  • Professor O.A. Enikuomehin, DVC (Development): 7 January 2016 till 23 May 2017
  • Professor (Mrs.) Morenike Dipeolu, DVC (Academic): 8 January 2018 to 7 January 2020[9]
  • Professor (Mrs.) Bolanle Akeredolu-Ale DVC (Academic): 8 January 2020 till date
  • Professor L.O. Sanni, DVC (Development): 7 November 2017 to 6 November 2019.[10]
  • Professor Clement Adeofun (Development): 7 November 2019 till date.[11]

While the first five were the only Deputy Vice-Chancellors during their respective tenures, Professors Eromosele and Ariyo were appointed simultaneously as the first set of two Deputy Vice-Chancellors for the university, an initiative of the then Vice-Chancellor, Professor O.O. Balogun.

If you like this post About Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta FUNAAB, Kindly share it with your friends!

Follow us on our Facebook page and we will keep you updated!

About Teezab 1349 Articles
His Name is Tiamiyu Abdulbazeet Olawale. He is a student at the University of Ilorin studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering. He likes to give the latest updates about Nigeria and international institutions as he aims at helping people to lay their hands on the right information.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.