Adekunle Ajasin University AAUA

Adekunle Ajasin University (AAUA)

Adekunle Ajasin University (AAUA) is a Nigerian university that is owned and run by the state government. The university is located in Ondo State, Nigeria, at Akungba Akoko.

The government of the old Ondo State, led by the late Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin, first created Adekunle Ajasin University as Obafemi Awolowo University in March 1982. In 1985, the military government of Navy Commodore Michael Bamidele Otiko took over and changed the name to Ondo State University. 

Following the establishment of a new state out of the old Ondo three years earlier in October 1996, its move to Akungba Akoko in the new Ondo State became imperative in 1999. The bill supporting the relocation was passed into law by Chief Adebayo Adefarati, the then-Governor of the State, in November 1999, and workers began to relocate from the former site in Ado-Ekiti to Akungba Akoko on December 1, 1999. Following Governor Ajasin’s death in 2004, Governor Adefarati approved a bill to alter the name of the university to Adekunle Ajasin University AAUA to honor the late Governor Ajasin.

The university’s amended and subsisting statute was signed into law by yet another governor, former Governor Olusegun Agagu, in November 2007. In these conditions, it is right to say that while Adekunle Ajasin University AAUA’s history began in 1982, its move on November 5, 1999, marked the commencement of the second phase of its history now in its present location, Akungba Akoko.

Adekunle Ajasin University (AAUA)

NameAdekunle Ajasin University (AAUA)
MottoFor Learning and Service
EstablishedDecember 1999
Pro-Chancellor/ChairmanDr. Tunji Abayomi
Vice-ChancellorProf. Olugbenga E. Ige
RegistrarMr. Raphael Arajulu
BursarMr. Tobi Orina, FCA
Studentsover 20,000
Affiliated collegesCollege Of Education, Lanlate


Past and Present AAUA Vice-chancellors

The Vice-Chancellors are assisted by two deputy Vice Chancellors, both Academic and Administration.

Names of Vice-ChancellorsDate
Prof. Akin AkindoyemiJanuary 2000 to January 2001
Prof. Olusola Ibukun (Acting)January 2001 to May 2002
Prof. Funso Akere4 May 2002 to 30 April 2006
Prof. N. Oluwafemi Mimiko (Acting)May 2006 to October 2006
Prof. Dr. Med. Philip Abiodun 1 October 2006 to 18 June 2009
Prof. O. Awobuluyi (Acting)19 June 2009 to 3 January 2010
Prof. N. Oluwafemi Mimiko4 January 2010 to 3 January 2015
Prof. Igbekele Amos Ajibefun6 January 2015 to 5 January 2020
Prof. Olugbenga E. Ige (Acting)6 January 2020 to 6 July 2021
Prof. Olugbenga E. Ige7 July 2021 till date

Adekunle Ajasin University AAUA List of Faculties

Adekunle Ajasin University AAUA has 8 Faculties which are;

  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Art
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Environmental Design and Management
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of The Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Administration and Management Science.

If you like this post Adekunle Ajasin University (AAUA), kindly use the share button to share with friends!

Follow us on our Facebook page and we will keep you updated! 

About Teezab 1349 Articles
His Name is Tiamiyu Abdulbazeet Olawale. He is a student at the University of Ilorin studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering. He likes to give the latest updates about Nigeria and international institutions as he aims at helping people to lay their hands on the right information.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.